SECRET RECORDING AUTHORISERS

For Factual and News & Current Affairs Programmes

Last Updated February 2022

CCOG - CHIEF CUSTOMER OFFICE GROUP

CCOG - CHIEF CUSTON	IER OFFICE GROUP	
DEPARTMENT	AUTHORISERS	AUTHORISERS
	(in-house commissions)	(independent commissions)
CCOG	Refer proposal first to: Head Editorial Standards Chris Parker	As in-house
	Authorisers: Portfolio Heads of Marketing for BBC:-	
	One: Chris Hooper Two, Three & Four: Niki Carr	
	News: Christine Woodman Sport: James Parry Radio: Max Buckland Sounds: Claire Jullien iPlayer: Kerry Moss	
	Authorisers where programme is on the MRPL: Director, Content Marketing Paul Davies	
	Head of News Marketing Christine Woodman	

CONTENT

CONTILITY		
DEPARTMENT	AUTHORISERS	AUTHORISERS
	(in-house commissions)	(independent commissions)
BBC Three	Controller, BBC Three	As in-house
Short form or daily content	Fiona Campbell	
that is <u>not</u> commissioned by		
one of the genres above (e.g.		
Factual / Current Affairs		!
etc.).		

Children's and Education	Refer proposal first to: Head Editorial Standards Catherine McAllister Authoriser: Director, Children's and Education Patricia Hidalgo Head of Education Commissioning Helen Foulkes	As in-house
Comedy	Not applicable	Controller, Comedy Commissioning Jon Petrie
Current Affairs	Not applicable	Deputy Head of Current Affairs Jim Gray
Daytime	Not applicable	Controller, Daytime Lindsay Bradbury
Drama	Not applicable	Controller, Drama Commissioning Piers Wenger
Entertainment inc. Factual Entertainment	Not applicable	Controller, Ents Commissioning Kate Phillips
Factual Programmes inc. Features	Not applicable	Controller Factual Commissioning Carla-Maria Lawson Clare Sillery
Sport	Head TV Sport Philip Bernie Head Sport News & Radio Sport Stephen Mawhinney	As in-house

ENGLAND

ENGLAND		
DEPARTMENT	AUTHORISERS (in-house commissions)	AUTHORISERS (independent commissions)
England	Editor, Politics Tim Burke	Not Applicable
	Director of England Helen Thomas	
	Head of TV & Online, BBC England Declan Wilson	

NEWS

DEPARTMENT	AUTHORISERS	AUTHORISERS
	(in-house commissions)	(independent commissions)
Digital Output	Digital Output &	
	Development, Digital	
	Director, BBC News	
	Naja Nielsen	
	Reporting to Naja:	
	Digital News Editor	
	(Executive News Editor),	
	BBC News	
	Stuart Millar	
	Digital Development	
	Editor (Executive News	
	Editor), BBC News	
	Nathalie Malinarich	
International Services		
M/C Commissions	Senior Commissioner	
WS Commissions	Gwenan Roberts	
	Gwenan Roberts	
WS Languages	Controller World	
	Service Language	
	Tarik Kafala	
	(News Executive	
	Hilary Bishop can authorise in	
	Tarik's absence)	

News Content	Deputy Director BBC News and Senior Controller of News Content Jonathan Munro Executive Editor, UK News Content Richard Burgess Managing Editor Philippa Busby	
News Output and Commissioning		
TV / Radio / World Service English Current Affairs	Deputy Head, Current Affairs Jim Gray	
	(Joanna Carr can authorise in Jim's absence)	
World Service English News & Newsbeat	Controller Jamie Angus (notifying Liliane Landor for World Service English News)	
World Service News	Executive News Editor, Global Commissioning Liz Gibbons	

NORTHERN IRELAND		
DEPARTMENT	AUTHORISERS	AUTHORISERS
	(in-house commissions)	(independent commissions)
Current Affairs	(Interim) Head of News & Current Affairs Kevin Kelly	Senior Head of Content Commissioning Eddie Doyle
	Editor, Spotlight (Gwyneth Jones can authorise for gathering purposes but Kevin Kelly must authorise broadcast).	
News	(Interim) Head of News & Current Affairs Kevin Kelly	(Interim) Head of News & Current Affairs Kevin Kelly

Production	Senior Head of Content Production Emma Dunseith	Senior Head of Content Commissioning Eddie Doyle
Radio	Senior Head of Content Production Emma Dunseith	Senior Head of Content Commissioning Eddie Doyle

RADIO

RADIO		
DEPARTMENT	AUTHORISERS	AUTHORISERS
	(in-house commissions)	(independent commissions)
BBC Audio	Controller	Not Applicable
	Graham Ellis	
	Head Factual and Drama	
	Robert Ketteridge	
	Robert Retteriage	
	Head Daily Factual	
	Ruth Gardiner	
	Ruth Gardiner	
	Hood Footual Briefs!	
	Head Factual Bristol	
	Clare McGinn	
BBC Ideas	Editor Ideas	
	Bethan Jinkinson	
BBC Sounds	Controller	
	Jonathon Wall	
	Commissioning Editors	
	Jason Phipps	
	Dylan Haskins	
	Louise Katterhorn	
Radio Pop Music	Controller Pop Stations	As in-house
(including Radio I, Radio	Lorna Clarke	
2, IXtra, Radio 6, Asian		
Network)		
1100WOIR)		
Radio I /IXtra / Asian	Head RI	As in-house
	Aled H Jones	
	, and it joiles	
	Head RIx	
	Faron McKenzie	
	raron McKenzie	

	Head Asian	
	Ahmed Hussain	
	Head News Asian	
	ТВА	
	Editor Newsbeat	
	Paul Stanworth	
Radio 2	Head R2	As in-house
(excluding News)	Helen Thomas	
Radio 3	Refer to Radio HQ	As in-house
(excluding News)		
Radio 4	Controller (in-house)	Controller
(excluding News)	Graham Ellis	Mohit Bakaya
	Head Factual and Drama	Deputy
	Robert Ketteridge	Denis Nowlan
	Head Daily Factual	Commissioning Editors
	Ruth Gardiner	Alison Hindle
		Daniel Clarke
	Head Factual Bristol	Rhian Roberts
	Clare McGinn	Roger Mahony
		Richard Knight
		Sioned William
Radio 5Live	Controller	As in-house
	Heidi Dawson	
	Managing Editor	
	Julie Cullen	
	Commissioning Editor	
	Richard Maddock	
	Controller - Daily News	
	Gavin Allen	
D 1: (ļ., .,,	<u> </u>
Radio 6	Head R6	As in-house
	Samantha Moy	
D. J. HO		A . I
Radio HQ	Hd of Editorial Standards	As in-house
	Fergus Dudley	

SCOTLAND

DEPARTMENT	AUTHORISERS (in-house commissions)	AUTHORISERS (independent commissions)
BBC Scotland	Director Steve Carson in Director's absence:	As in-house
	Head of News and Current Affairs Gary Smith	

STUDIOS

3100103	T	
DEPARTMENT	AUTHORISERS	AUTHORISERS
	(BBC commissions)	(Independent commissions)
BBC World	Head of Content	
News/bbc.com	Mary Wilkinson	
(commercial commissions)		
Entertainment & Music	Director of Production	
	Lisa McCormack	
Distribution	Head of Editorial	
	Standards	
	Anthony Worrall	
Drama, Comedy and	Chief Executive, Studio	
CDS	Production	
	Ralph Lee	
Factual Entertainment &	Managing Director	As in-house
Events	Hannah Wyatt	
International Production	Managing Director	
	Matt Forde	
The Documentary Unit	Head of Genre	As in-house
	Alan Holland	
The Natural History Unit	Head of the NHU	As in-house
	Jonny Keeling	
The One Show	Head of the One Show	As in-house
	Rob Unsworth	
The Science Unit	Head of Science Unit	As in-house
	Andrew Cohen	

WALES

AUTHORISERS (in-house commissions)	AUTHORISERS (independent commissions)
Head of Public Policy Rhys Evans	As in-house
in the Head of Public Policy's absence: Head of BBC Wales Content Production Sian Gwynedd	
Head of English Language TV Commissioning Nick Andrews	
	(in-house commissions) Head of Public Policy Rhys Evans in the Head of Public Policy's absence: Head of BBC Wales Content Production Sian Gwynedd Head of English Language TV Commissioning