## 16. Convention Relating to the Distribution of Programme-Carrying Signals Transmitted by Satellite

Satellites Convention (Brussels, 1974)

## Status on September 15, 2020

State	Date on which State became
	party to the Convention
Armenia	December 13, 1993
Australia	October 26, 1990
Austria	August 6, 1982
Bahrain	May 1, 2007
Benin	August 18, 2017
Bosnia and Herzegovina	March 6, 1992
Chile	June 8, 2011
Colombia	March 20, 2014
Costa Rica	June 25, 1999
Croatia	October 8, 1991
El Salvador <sup>1</sup>	July 22, 2008
Germany <sup>2</sup>	_
Greece	August 25, 1979 October 22, 1991
Honduras	
	April 7, 2008
Italy <sup>2</sup>	July 7, 1981
Jamaica	January 12, 2000
Kenya	August 25, 1979
Mexico	August 25, 1979
Montenegro	June 3, 2006 <sup>3</sup>
Morocco	June 30, 1983
Nicaragua	August 25, 1979
North Macedonia	November 17, 1991
Panama	September 25, 1985
Peru	August 7, 1985
Portugal	March 11, 1996
Republic of Korea	March 19, 2012
Republic of Moldova	October 28, 2008
Russian Federation	January 20, 1989 <sup>4</sup>
Rwanda	July 25, 2001
Serbia	April 27, 1992
Singapore	April 27, 2005
Slovenia	June 25, 1991
Switzerland	September 24, 1993
Togo	June 10, 2003
Trinidad and Tobago <sup>5</sup>	November 1, 1996
United States of America	March 7, 1985
Viet Nam	January 12, 2006

(Total: 38 States)

With a declaration, pursuant to Article 2(2) of the Convention, the Salvadorian law does not set a limit on the length of authorization for the distribution of a programme-carrying signal and leaves it open for the owner of the programme to determine the length of authorization when granting the permit or authorization.

With a declaration, pursuant to Article 2(2) of the Convention, that the protection accorded under Article 2(1) is restricted in its territory to a period of 25 years after the expiry of the calendar year in which the transmission by satellite has occurred.

Deposited declaration, on October 23, 2006, with effect from June 3, 2006, the date of State succession.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Date of accession by the Soviet Union, continued by the Russian Federation as from December 25, 1991.

With a declaration, pursuant to Article 2(2) of the Convention, that the protection accorded under Article 2(1) is restricted in its territory to a period of 20 years after the expiry of the calendar year in which the transmission by satellite has occurred.