

2011 ACM SIGPLAN Symposium on Programming Language Design and Implementation (PLDI '11) San Jose, CA June 4-8, 2011



General Chair Mary Hall, University of Utah

Program Chair David Padua, University of Illinois

Program Committee

Saman Amarasinghe, MIT Andrew W. Appel, Princeton University John Cavazos, University of Delaware Albert Cohen, INRIA Amer Diwan,

Google and University of Colorado Evelyn Duesterwald, IBM Research Michael Franz,

University of California Irvine David Gregg, Trinity College Dublin Thomas Gross, ETH Zurich

Manuel Hermenegildo,

IMDEA Software Inst. and T.U. Madrid Mahmut Kandemir,

Pennsylvania State University Viktor Kuncak, EPFL

James Larus, Microsoft Research

Kathryn S. McKinley,

The University of Texas at Austin Greg Morrisett, Harvard University Jens Palsberg, UCLA Keshav Pingali,

The University of Texas at Austin Andreas Podelski, University of Freiburg Sriram Rajamani, Microsoft Research John Reppy, University of Chicago Michelle Mills Strout,

Colorado State University Frank Tip, IBM Research Peng Tu, Intel Peng Wu, IBM Research

External Review Committee See reverse

Important Dates

Abstract Submission: November 12, 2010 Paper Submission: Rebuttal Period: Notification:

November 19, 2010 January 15-19, 2011 February 3, 2011



Call for Papers http://pldi11.cs.utah.edu/

PLDI is a forum for the exchange of information on programming languages, their design, implementation, development, and use. PLDI emphasizes innovative and creative approaches to compile-time and runtime technology, novel language designs and features, and results from implementations. Papers are solicited on, but not limited to, the following topics:

- Language designs and extensions
- Static and dynamic analysis of programs
- Domain-specific languages and tools
- Type systems and program logics
- Program transformation and optimization
- Checking or improving the security or
- correctness of programs
- Memory management

- · Parallelism, both implicit and explicit
- Performance analysis, evaluation, and tools
- Novel programming models
- Debugging techniques and tools
- Program understanding
- Interaction of compilers and run-time systems with underlying systems
- · Program synthesis

Submissions. Submissions must be in ACM proceedings format, 9-point type, and may not exceed 10 pages. Microsoft Word and LaTeX templates for this format are available at http://www.acm.org/sigs/sigplan/authorInformation.htm

Submissions should be in PDF and printable on US Letter and A4 sized paper. To enable double-blind reviewing, submissions must adhere to two rules:

- 1. author names and their affiliations must be omitted; and,
- references to related work by the authors should be in the third person (e.g., not 2. "We build on our previous work ..." but rather "We build on the work of ...").

However, nothing should be done in the name of anonymity that weakens the submission or makes the job of reviewing the paper more difficult (e.g., important background references should not be omitted or anonymized).

Papers must describe unpublished work that is not currently submitted for publication elsewhere as discussed in http://www.acm.org/sigs/sigplan/republicationpolicy.htm. Authors of accepted papers will be required to sign an ACM copyright release.

Evaluation. The program committee and the external review committee will evaluate the technical contribution of each submission as well as its general accessibility to the PLDI audience. Papers will be judged on significance, originality, and clarity. The paper must be organized so that it is easily understood by an audience with varied expertise. The paper should clearly identify what has been accomplished, why it is significant, and how it relates to previous work.

Publication of software and experimental data. As part of publishing accepted papers in the ACM Digital Library, we are encouraging authors to submit with their final manuscripts software and experimental data that was used to derive the results of their paper. This type of information is important for archival purposes and can be used by others to replicate the experiments or otherwise gain a deeper knowledge of the work.

PLDI 2011 External Review Committee

Amal Ahmed, Indiana University George Almasi, IBM Research Lennart Augustsson, Standard Chartered Bank Denis Barthou, University of Bordeaux Guy Blelloch, Carnegie Mellon University Matthias Blume, Google Michael Burke, Rice University Craig Chambers, Google Wenguang Chen, Tsinghua University William Cook, The University of Texas at Austin Keith Cooper, Rice University Patrick Cousot, École Normale Supérieure, Paris and Courant Institute, New York University Ron Cytron, Washington University Rudolf Eigenmann, Purdue University Paul Feautrier, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon Jeff Foster, University of Maryland, College Park Pascal Fradet, INRIA Rhône-Alpes Roberto Giacobazzi, University of Verona Neal Glew, Intel Kevin Hammond, University of St Andrews Tim Harris, Microsoft Research Suresh Jagannathan, Purdue University Ranjit Jhala, UC San Diego Ulrich Kremer, Rutgers Chandra Krintz, UC Santa Barbara Monica Lam, Stanford University Jaejin Lee, Seoul National University Jenq-Kuen Lee, National Tsing Hua University Ben Livshits, Microsoft Research Guei-Yuan Lueh, Intel Rupak Majumdar, MPI-SWS and UCLA Nick Mitchell, IBM Research Anders Møller, Aarhus University J. Eliot B. Moss, University of Massachusetts, Amherst Hanspeter Mössenböck, Johannes Kepler University Linz Alan Mycroft, University of Cambridge Yunheung Paek, Seoul National University Christoph von Praun, Georg-Simon-Ohm University of Applied Sciences Lakshminarayanan Renganarayana, IBM Research Martin Rinard, MIT Anne Rogers, University of Chicago Atanas Rountev, Ohio State University Andrey Rybalchenko, Technische Universität München P. Sadayappan, Ohio State University Michael L. Scott, University of Rochester Armando Solar-Lezama, MIT Peter Stuckey, University of Melbourne Don Syme, Microsoft Research William Thies, Microsoft Research, India David S. Warren, Stony Brook University Stephanie Weirich, University of Pennsylvania Chengyong Wu, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences Youfeng Wu, Intel Labs Greta Yorsh, IBM Research